One in eight women in the United States will develop invasive breast cancer over the course of their lifetime. The vivacious 33-year-old Sarah Hughen is well aware of this. Originally from rural Wisconsin, Sarah has been a resident of Southern California for the last eleven years, which means she’s picked up surfing in that time. On May 1st, 2011 Sarah started the undertaking she coined ‘A Wave A Day’ in which she’s going to surf everyday for the next year to raise awareness and donations for the Keep A Breast Foundation, giving them 100% of the donations. I spoke with the mother of two boys to get some more insight.

First off, what made you want to start this pursuit?
Sarah Hughen: Aside from my grandmother and grandmother-in-law both being diagnosed, there has been a daily onslaught of stories of people very close to me, and close to my friends, getting breast cancer. I finally just got to a point to where I couldn’t take it anymore. I have wanted to do a project about breast cancer for a long time. And about a month ago, it came to me like a calling of sorts. The statistics made me crazy and I knew I had to do something about it.

What are some of those daunting statistics?
In the U.S, a woman is diagnosed every three minutes with breast cancer. A quarter of all breast cancer diagnoses are found by woman doing their own self-exams. And a lot of makeup and beauty products that we use everyday contain chemicals that have been linked to cancer.

How tricky will 365 days be for you?
The reality of doing anything everyday for a year is a challenge. I am a mom, and that reality never leaves me. The trickiest part will definitely be juggling the kids. And there are going to be great sunny, glassy days that I will be rejoicing in. But there are going to be just as many days when the wind is blowing sideways and the rain is beating down. I am going to have to dig deep and remember why I am doing this. My motto from the beginning of this has been: “I am not going to get to choose not to surf, just as someone doesn’t get to choose not to have cancer.”

Where can people donate to the cause and keep up on your daily surfs?
We are all in this together. And while I may be the one who is the vehicle for awareness it is all of our jobs to support and honor those who are affected by this disease. I will be posting daily photos and information on my website awaveaday.com, but most importantly click the DONATE button to make your direct donation to the Keep A Breast Foundation. They are the ones who are really making a difference.

